For Science

 

I never thought at this point in my life that I would need more science in my day-to-day activities. That was until I attended ClexaCon and spent the weekend with convincing influences…

ClexaCon is a media and entertainment convention for LGBTQ Women and Allies or in layman’s terms, the best fucking thing to happen to our gay little hearts in quite awhile.

I spent a weekend at Bally’s in Las Vegas a few weeks ago with the most amazing people that I know and the greatest, weirdest, and kindest strangers that I’ve ever met.

ClexaCon wasn’t just a humongous get-together of women in flannels and snapbacks who like other women in flannels and snapbacks (throw in the leather jackets as well). It was a monumental gathering place of inspiring stories, hardcore fan-girling, and endless lines of “I’m too gay for this.”

It’s really too bad that we hadn’t thought to play the drinking game every time one of us said that line. I’m not positive that Vegas could’ve handled it (“I just wanted to call you poo”).

When reality drop kicked me and I had to return to my normal life, what once had been ClexaCon and the most remarkable weekend in recent memory, turned into somewhat of a black hole. It was a void that I am still trying to fill today.

It wasn’t just about coming together to talk about television and how our favorite gay couples are being deprived of their happy ending and what we can do as an audience to change that. It wasn’t about almost being run into by the cutest little English woman (Dom, I’m looking at you) either. It was about taking a stand on social injustices that will never change unless we have the courage to do so. And oh boy, do we have the courage to do so.

Not only that, but the actresses that bring these beloved characters to life are doing so much more than just acting. They’re involved in the community as strong and vocal allies, they’re educating themselves about the gay issues in society today, but most importantly they’re showing us that they genuinely care and are interested in hearing our stories. It’s a great feeling to see people in power that you admire, admire you right back.

I personally have never been apart of an experience so moving and inspiring that it has stuck with me weeks after it happened, like it never ended in the first place.

There is proof that there is an audience for our stories and all the stories we want to tell and if you don’t believe it, just ask Emily Andras, she said so. But more than that, love is the real deal. Love doesn’t have to be romantic. It’s just a person, two people, a group of people, or an entire ball room full of people doing the wave for Kat Barrell that is simple, genuine, and makes you feel like you finally found a home.

It hasn’t always been easy for me to fit in once I moved to Las Vegas almost twelve years ago. I still struggle to this day to find a group, a home where I truly feel like I belong. What I found at ClexaCon wasn’t just a handful of new TV shows to binge watch or actress to use as my wallpaper, but a home and a safe haven. It was a place that I could be unapologetically myself and it was met with immense enthusiasm. I met the most amazing people who invited me in and treated me like we’ve been best friends for decades. Also, thank you for the daily “science.”

Regardless of how the media portrays your values, your ideals, your hopes or your dreams, there is a place for you. There are people in your corner and on your side, who have your back and won’t let you down. Surround yourself with those people, fictional characters or real life human beings (or a healthy dose of both). Let them inspire you to be the person you fear you don’t have the courage to be. Maybe they’ll even send you daily GIFS of very attractive super heroes and bad ass women. Yes, definitely find those people.

Leave a Reply

