Graduation

It is May 15, 2016 and it has been one crazy year thus far.

I would like to start off by saying that I am graduating college tomorrow evening. It only took me eight years and five degree changes later to grab this associates degree. It does not sound like a great deal, but college is not for everyone and I realized that very quickly. Alas, here I am.

There are a lot of thoughts crossing my mind before I walk across that stage tomorrow night, but mostly I am thinking about what this experience really means to me. Sure, I have a college degree, but it is so much more than an education and an expensive piece of paper.

College had never meant very much to me until I was sitting in the back row of our portraiture class the last week of school, looking at who was around me. I realized then that I would be walking away with more than just a degree.

I have been challenged this year in more ways than I care to remember, but it has all helped me become a stronger individual, and for that I appreciate the good and the bad for what they have taught me. I have learned a great deal about letting go, moving on, keeping your heart open, caring about what truly matters, and doing the things that I never thought would be possible. More than anything, I learned that no matter how dark this world gets, you must never lose your sense of humor, for life without comedy would be a tragedy. While circumstances did their best to knock me down, I had amazing people by my side to help lift me back up.

As my friends and I embark on the next adventures of our lives, first of which is our highly anticipated European extravaganza, I cannot help but to be so thankful that they let me sit at their table. As graduation approaches to end one chapter of this story, I know that it is only the beginning to one hell of an adventure.

-Welcome to the island of misfit toys-

One thought on “Graduation

  1. Congratulations on finishing college! I admire how much you have surely learned over 8 years getting to get a glimpse into various different types of studies.

    I’d love to get your thoughts on my blog (https://smm2016blog.wordpress.com). I’m always looking for feedback on how to improve viewership, so if you have advise, please let me know!

    Like

Leave a Reply

