Here and Now

I was instructed by several friends of mine that I need to start blogging about my adventures. So you’re welcome.

Hi guys!

So these last few months have been a crazy time in my life, not that that is anything new, but it’s been crazy in a good way. I recently graduated college (commencement isn’t until May), which feels very surreal to me. It’s definitely one of those, “ready to go but not quite ready to leave,” type of feelings. I haven’t always loved college but I’ve enjoyed the experience of a classroom and learning new things that interested me. I will have an Associates of Applied Science in Commercial Photography, which is probably the furthest thing from my original major. But I couldn’t be happier with my choice. Not only did I learn about different aspects of photography, but it also taught me a lot about myself and how I see life.

I’ve always felt like that quite person who keeps to themselves at parties, so I’ve never really adventured out of my comfort zone when it
comes to being social. My friends might tell you differently. But this last semester of college has been by far the most rewarding in that
regard. I’ve met so many incredibly amazing people. In a lot of ways they’ve given me a small place to call home, a place where I can be
myself and there’s no questions asked. They’ve encouraged me with positive and constructive feedback not only on my photography, but my life as well. They’re the type of people that are just good people. And in the world we live in today, those can be so difficult to come by.

This program has taught me to be more patient, more open-minded, less critical of myself because we’re all prone to being humans, and to be more trusting in my abilities. It really taught me what it means to think outside the box; to take chances, break the rules, and not be scared to do so. I feel like art, in all its forms, has a way of making you slow down to truly appreciate whatever it is that you’re doing. It provides new perspectives and by doing so, gives you the freedom to explore and bring to life who you are on the inside. When I look back on this experience, it won’t be what I learned in the classroom that will inspire me to strive for my goals and ambitions. Instead, it will forever be the people who pushed me to be the best version of myself, that I didn’t think I could be. One click at a time.

Peace out,

Alexa

Leave a Reply

